Our Patrons

Thursday, 09 April 2009 22:27
smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon




v rathanasara-image

Ven. Kanugolle Rathanasara
Born in the south eastern Sri Lankan village of Biblie.  Ven. Rathanasara became a novice monk at the age of 12 and received his higher ordination (upasampada) in 1998 at the Malwathu Maha Viharaya in Kandy, Sri Lanka.  He graduated in 1998 with a Bachelor of Arts (Special) degree in Mass Communication.  Currently, he is the resident monk at the Sri Lankaramaya Buddhist Temple in Singapore.  Being in the prime of youth himself, he has exemplarily garnered the support of the youthful devotees and banded them into a group that calls themselves the Dhamma Gavesl Youth Group (Seekers of the Truth), not only to enhance spiritually but also to contribute in various ways to the activities of the temple.



Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo
Born in London and became a Buddhist when she was a teenager.  In 1964, at the age of twenty, she decided to go to India to pursue her spiritual parth.  There she met her Guru, the 8th Khamtrul Rinpoche from the Drukpa Lineage, and became one of the first Westerners to be ordained as a Tibetan Buddhist num.  Later, seeking more seclusion and better conditions for practice, she spent 12 years in retreat in a cave.  She left India in 1998 and went to stay in Italy where she taught at various Dhamma centres.

Patron Adviser:  
 Dr Tan Choon Kim


Dr Tan Choon Kim, Chairman of Kwan Im Thong Temple
Dr Tan Choon Kim
  is the Chairman of the Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple. He is a retired Neuroanatomist from the National University of Singapore and has published many medical papers.  He also served on the Manjusri Secondary School Board and is currently on the Mee Toh Primary School board.

  Yeo Guat Kwang, Member of Parliament, Aljunied GR
Mr Yeo Guat Kwang
has been the Member of Parliament for Aljunied GRC since 2001. He was the Member of Parliament for Cheng San GRC from 1997 to 2001. As a labour MP, he works closely with the tripartite social partners to improve and enhance the well-being of workers. 

He has been elected as the President of Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE) since 2002. During his term of office, he successfully lobbied for the Consumer Protection (Fair Trading) Act and implemented key initiatives to better protect the interest of the consumers including greater transparency of the hospital bills.  He also serves as the Executive Secretary for the Amalgamated Union of Statutory Board Employees.

Mr Yeo is a member of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Manpower and the Ministry of Information and the Arts. He also serves as member of the Board of Director in Public Utilities Board and Financial Industry Disputes Resolution Centre Ltd.
Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by JoomlaVision.Com
Last Updated on Wednesday, 26 August 2015 23:04